Gk Question Series

Gk Question Series


Q1. Which incident initiated the Swadeshi movement in British India
(a) Jallianwala Bagh genocide
(b) Champaran Satyagraha
(c) Bengal Partition
(d) Gandhiji's return to India

Answer: (c) Bengal Partition

Q2. The Civil Disobedience Movement was started with which event
(a) Bardoli Satyagraha
(b) Communal Award
(c) Dandi March
(d) Failure of round table conference

Answer: (c) Dandi March

Q3. In which Muslim League session, the "Divide and Quit" slogan was raised by Muhammad Ali Jinnah
(a) Dhaka Session, 1906
(b) Lucknow Session, 1931
(c) Lahore Session, 1940
(d) Karachi Session, 1943

Answer: (d) Karachi Session, 1943

Q4. The Indian Slavery Act, 1843 was enacted by which Governor-General
(a) Lord Wilberforce
(b) Lord Ellenborough
(c) Lord Bentinck
(d) Lord Auckland

Answer: (b) Lord Ellenborough

Q5. From the followings, who is appointed twice as the Governor-General of India
(a) Minto
(b) Hardinge
(c) Cornwallis
(d) Warren Hastings

Answer: (c) Cornwallis

Q6. The Ancient Monuments Preservation Act, which deals with the preservation of ancient monuments was passed during the times of
(a) Dalhousie
(b) Cornwallis
(c) Curzon
(d) Mountbatten

Answer: (c) Curzon

Q7. Which Mughal Emperor discontinued the practice of Jharokha-Darshan
(a) Akbar
(b) Jahangir
(c) Shah Jahan
(d) Aurangazeb

Answer: (d) Aurangazeb

Q8. The religious scriptures of Mahayanism were written in
(a) Devanagari
(b) Prakrit
(c) Sanskrit
(d) Pali

Answer: (d) Pali

Q9. Who is also known as the "Lord of five Indies"
(a) Ashoka
(b) Harsha
(c) Samudragupta
(d) Chandragupta II

Answer: (b) Harsha

Q10. Who among these was never elected to the Presidentship of INC
(a) George Yule
(b) Alfred Webb
(c) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
(d) Nawab Syed

Answer: (c) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

Q11. Who moved (and withdrew) a resolution for the enfranchisement of women in the 1917 Session of Indian National Congress
(a) Annie Besant
(b) Sarojini Naidu
(c) Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay
(d) Aruna Asaf Ali

Answer: (a) Annie Besant

Q12. V. D. Savarkar authored the book
(a) Eighteen Fifty Seven
(b) The Sepoy Mutiny
(c) The Indian War of Independence
(d) Rebellions in the Indian Mutinies

Answer: (c) The Indian War of Independence

Q13. Charaka Samhita is predominantly a text on
(a) Sports
(b) Therapeutics
(c) Yoga
(d) Food

Answer: (b) Therapeutics

Q14. Chachnama, in early century source on history of Sind, was originally written in
(a) Sanskrit
(b) Persian
(c) Arabic
(d) Pali

Answer: (b) Persian

Q15. The law book of Manu translated by Sir William Jones published under the title of
(a) Institutes of Hindu Law
(b) Law by Aryan
(c) Manu's Law
(d) Sacred Law of the Aryans

Answer: (a) Institutes of Hindu Law